Distinguished Mathematics Educator Award

The Wisconsin Mathematics Council’s Distinguished Mathematics Educator (DME) Award is the most prestigious award that the Council bestows. The award recognizes individuals for their outstanding contributions and exceptional leadership and service to the Wisconsin mathematics education community.

Nominations for this award may include elementary, middle, secondary, or college teachers of mathematics, coordinators of mathematics, mathematics supervisors, and any other person who has made substantial contributions to the improvement of mathematics education.

2017 Recipient:
Dave Ebert
Oregon School District

Qualities of DME awardees include evidence of:

  • Active participation in professional organizations at the local, state and/or national levels
  • Lifetime contributions to mathematics education
  • Continued growth as a mathematics educator and leader
  • Inspirational influence on others in mathematics education

In order to be considered for the DME award, nominees must meet the following criteria:

  • Provide significant contributions and distinguished service to mathematics education in Wisconsin
  • Be recognized as a regional, state, and/or national leader
  • Be involved in mathematics education for a minimum of 15 years, with at least ten years in Wisconsin

Formal nominations must be submitted to the Wisconsin Mathematics Council no later than January 31 of each year. The DME committee, appointed by the WMC president, will review candidates for the award and present the selection to the WMC Board of Directors no later than April 1 of each year. The DME awardee will be honored at the WMC Annual Conference.

Questions about the DME award should be directed to the Wisconsin Mathematics Council at: wmc@wismath.org.

Click here to download the nomination form

Past Distinguished Mathematics Educator Award Recipients

Recipient/Year Recipient/Year
David Johnson 1983
Sister Mary Petronia Van Straten                                    
Sister Jositha Van Straten 1983
J. Fred Weaver 1983
LeRoy Dalton 1984
Olive Danecki 1984
George Henderson 1984
Ray Schmelter, Jr. 1984
M. Vere De Vault 1985
DuWayne Kleinschmidt 1985
Ethel Niejahr 1985
Gail Burrill 1986
Patricia Huston 1986
Courtney Leonard 1986
Vincent O'Connor 1986
John Burrill 1987
Adele Hanson 1987
Henry Kepner 1987
Walter Leffin 1987
Marshall Wick 1987
John Lucas 1988
Elizabeth Fennema 1989
Robert Patton 1989
Tom Romberg 1989
Harry Wolff 1989
Donald Chambers 1990
Jane Howell 1990
Tom Carpenter 1992
Robert Prielipp 1992
Judy Fadness 1993
John Moyer 1993
John G. Harvey 1993
Billie Earl Sparks 1994
John Janty 1994
 Sue Gehn
 Jodean Grunow
Phil Makurat 1995
Arne Engebretsen 1996
Norm Webb 1996
Ann Elling 1997
Elizabeth Freeman 1997
Milton Mitchell
Milton "Butch" Bretzel    
Patrick Hopfensperger                      
Marty Schuh 1998
Jim Kasum 1999
Mary Schroeder 1999
Pat Tyunaitis 1999
Joan Grampps 2000
Faye Hilgart 2000
James Marty 2001
Steve Reinhart 2001
Carolyn Meitler 2002
Eric Schluter 2002
Jo Ingle 2003
Henry Kranendonk 2003
Connie Laughlin 2004
Janis Freckmann 2006
Diana Kasbaum 2006
Linda McQuillen 2006
DeAnn Huinker 2008
Patricia Madsen 2008
Frederick (Rick) Tufte 2008
Jane Fazio 2010
Sue Hanson-Otis 2011
Margaret Jensen
Richard Askey 2013
Beth Schefelker 2014
Michelle Parks   
Kevin McLeod
© 2017 Wisconsin Mathematics Council, Inc.
wmc@wismath.org | 1-262-437-0174

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software